Assignment #5

Identity is that qualities of a person that define who they are. A dominant narrative is a story that people in a position of privilege tell about someone who is not. A counter narrative is a story or perspective that people who are marginalized tell about themselves. It is important to tell a counter narrative about dominant narratives people say about your identity because what they say won’t always be true because they don’t know how you truly feel because they aren’t you. Only you would know what is right and wrong about you. A counter narrative against a dominant narrative can show people what is really true.To begin with a dominant narrative is a story that people in a position of privilege tell about someone who is not. What they have to do with me personally is that their are dominant narratives about my ethnicity and race which I don’t like. A picture that shows a dominant narrative about me on my shadowbox is that Asians eat dogs and cats but I’m Asian I own a dog and I never ate a dog or cat in my life. That picture is an example of dominant narratives because that is a stereotype that someone with privilege or power that made lots of people believe that is true about Asians. Another picture that shows a dominant narrative about me that I am using is that Asians can’t open their eyes and how their eyes are squinted. That picture is an example of dominant narrative because it is a stereotype about Asians that a lot of people believe is true about Asians but it is not.

First of all a counter narrative is a story or perspective of a person that is marginalized tell about themselves. What they have to do with me personally is that they rebel against the dominant narrative. One of the pictures I plan to use on my shadowbox that shows a counter narrative about one of my identities is that a man saying not all Asians eat dogs. This picture shows an example of a counter narrative because it is saying that the dominant narrative of all Asians eat dogs is not true. Another picture I plan to use on my shadowbox I plan to use to show a counter narrative about me is an Asian man being able to open his eyes completely. This is an example of a counter narrative because there is a dominant narrative about how all Asians can’t open their eyes which is completely wrong.First of all identity is the qualities that represent who you are. One of the pictures that I plan to use on my shadowbox to show an example of one of my identities is that I like anime. This pictures is an example of identity because anime is a quality that represents me. Another picture I plan to use on my shadowbox that shows an example of one of my identities is that I love to eat food. This shows an example of identity because food is a way to represent me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *